Karimnagar Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 LIVE: Who Will Get Lucky This Time? BJP, Congress, BRS are fighting for control

Since its formation in 1952, the Karimnagar seat has been dominated by the Congress, but the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has emerged as a formidable player, with party founder K Chandrashekar Rao securing the seat several times.

In the last three elections, Karimnagar electorate has elected Congress candidate in 2009, TRS in 2014 and BJP in 2019.

The Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat, once a bastion of the Congress, has fielded candidates from the Telugu Desam Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Telangana Rashtra Samithi, which is now the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS). Voter turnout was recorded at 69.78 percent.

The Challengers

BJP fielded Bandi Sanjay Kumar for Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat. Kumar, who is the party’s national general secretary, previously served as the state president of the BJP in Telangana.

He is banking on the “good work” he has done in the last five years, apart from Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s personal appeal. His main challenger is B Vinod Kumar of BRS.

Congress sent Velichala Rajender Rao as their representative.

In 2019, BJP handed BRS a major upset by winning the Karimnagar seat with a margin of over 90,000 votes. This loss particularly stung the regional party as the seat was once held by former CM K Chandrasekhar Rao, who continues to have a soft spot for it till date.

For the BJP, Karimnagar is a prestige battle and the party is keen to buck the recent trend of the constituency changing its MLA every election.

Demographic composition

There are 16,51,534 voters in the constituency, of which 22 percent are from urban areas, while rural voters comprise 78 percent. SC and ST voters account for 18.9 percent and 2.7 percent respectively.

According to religious demographics, there are 93.3% Hindus, while Muslims constitute 6.7% of the population.